San Andreas is a game close to my heart. I have a copious amount of nostalgic memories associated to the title, and it remains my favourite entry in the Grand Theft Auto title to date.

In today’s post. I’ll be sharing my first impressions of the remastered title!


Visually, this game looks decent. It isn’t anything special by any means, but it has been polished enough without detracting from the charm the original title had.

In some instances, the reworked graphics made aspects of the game look worse. Namely, in game models. I’ve used a photo of in-game girlfriend, Denise Roberts, as an example.

Original character model (left), remastered (right)

The updated control system was a welcome change for me. I do enjoy revisiting games from my childhood/teenage years, but you tend to notice how clunky they actually were, since we didn’t have better.

One glaring thing that the remaster couldn’t fix, however, was the lock-on system. San Andreas lock-on was always frustrating, I’d find myself locking on to random NPCs instead of who I wanted to target, or the aim would snap randomly to another target.


The GTA Remastered Collection has been met with criticism, and rightfully so, but I’m able to have fun with San Andreas, I’ve yet to play the others.

Do I believe that this is definitive way to play San Andreas? No. This is a remaster, however, so holding it to the same regard as a remake will leave you frustrated, and disappointed.

If you’re after these games in a bundle for your modern systems, they suffice. You’re getting the games with a new coat of paint, but what was aged, frustrating, and broken about their original counterparts, will still be there.


Your time is appreciated! If you have any feedback, or if you notice any errors, feel free to contact me!

For all things Life Told By Stacey, click me!


Leave a comment