The latest expansion for Destiny 2 was recently released, and I’ve invested a good few hours of playtime into The Final Shape. In this post, I have shared my first impressions.

The images in this post will show cutscene spoilers.

Left to right: Ghost and my warlock

The plot

As you start the new venture to overthrow the evil entity known as The Witness, our guardians meet with combat. The Witness is the biggest threat we have faced in the Destiny universe, and fighting through the hordes of its legions of followers is intense and action-packed. The importance of how powerful the entity is and the urgency needed to prevent it from destroying the universe is emphasised through brilliant voice acting.

I found aspects of the story quite emotional, especially the return of the character Cayde-6. The grief that numerous characters felt after his death was apparent in their interactions with him. Grief from previous moments of their lives comes to the surface and impacts the character’s relationships with each other.

This story seems to focus on letting go of grief and changing the shape of your life, for better or worse. The themes are what I have encountered in my own life and often have issues with. Some lines of dialogue have resonated with me and have even provided insight into areas I felt unsure about.

My guardian, Ghost, and Cayde-6

Gameplay

This expansion has changed many aspects of gameplay. I’m still in the early stages of experiencing all of the changes. I’ll briefly share my thoughts on what I have experienced so far.

The most significant change has been to the subclass system. We can now combine certain aspects of the previous classes to craft your ideal class. I haven’t unlocked everything for the new class system, but I like what I’ve played. I’ll need to experiment more to experience what this change brings to the player base.

A change that brought a sense of nostalgia to me was the vendor character Xur. In the original Destiny title, you obtained items known as strange coins to trade with him. Those have returned with this update, and I’m excited to earn them again.


Leave a comment