The cover art for Halo: Infinite. Master Chief is front and centre.
Master Chief returns.

Halo Infinite was a game that I was indifferent to playing, I don’t dislike the video game franchise, I had recently played through the entirety of the Master Chief collection, and I was worried about potential burnout.

An unconscious Master Chief adrift in space.
Adrift in space

Plot

After losing a battle with Atriox, the leader of a rogue faction separated from The Covenant, Master Chief is found adrift in space. This faction called The Banished, has taken control of a Halo installation. Chief is now tasked with thwarting their plans and taking down their leader.

A screenshot from my co-op game. Master Chief is in frame.
Co-op time

My thoughts

I experienced Halo Infinite via the co-op mode with my partner, much like I played the previous titles. Half of the fun of the Halo titles for me lies within cooperative gameplay. My partner and I don’t take the gameplay too seriously and often go out of our way to mess with each other. 

Unlike its predecessors, Halo Infinite has an open world. This allows you to take on story events at your leisure while having the option to explore the beautiful world and complete a side quest or two. 

I enjoyed this approach to the game; the mission structure format was fun, but I felt as if the missions ended abruptly. Once you’d completed something, you’d be greeted by a loading screen. While this is a result of the franchise’s age, I’m grateful Infinite had more freedom. 


One thought on “I played Halo Infinite! (spoiler free)

Leave a comment