Blue promotional art for the video game franchise Halo: The Master Chief Collection. The Master Chief's helmet is centred with the title above it and previous iterations around it. 

While I am not the biggest fan of Halo, I have found the series to be one of my favourites for co-op experiences. I played through the mainline titles with my partner recently, and I had a blast.

This image shows two screenshots from the original Halo title; the top image is from the original title, and the bottom image is the remastered version. 
Top image: original graphics,
Bottom image: remastered graphics

I am in awe of the effort that was put into this collection. Specifically, the first two Halo titles. The first Halo game was released in 2001 for the original Xbox console; its sequel followed in 2004 for the same system. The graphics were enhanced, but the option to play using the original graphics remained in the game. 

You’re able to switch between graphical options during gameplay at any point, including during cutscenes. I chose to play the game using the original graphics because I find them charming. It would be great if other developers included similar options for their remastered titles. 

An image from Halo 2 shows protagonist Master Chief and Sergeant Avery Johnson. 
Halo 2: Master Chief and Avery Johnson

Until the Xbox 360, I was mainly playing video games on PlayStation and Nintendo systems. The year that Halo was released, I was predominantly experiencing video games on the PlayStation 2. I vaguely knew of Halo, but it wasn’t enough of an interest for me to convince my parents to purchase me another video gaming system. It wasn’t until I met my closest friend, Amy, in my first year of secondary school that I had my introduction to the franchise. 

I have memories of witnessing her father and younger brother play the first title and memories of playing multiplayer games with Amy, where we didn’t take it seriously and just tried to kill each other in silly ways. This theme of playing multiplayer carried on into my adult life, particularly with another friendship group that I met later in my teenage years or young adult life. 

A screenshot from Halo Reach shows my customised Spartan in yellow armour holding a flare in the air.
Screenshot from Halo: Reach

I fully experienced the campaign with my partner a year previously; he wanted me to experience the story with him, and while I didn’t find the titles to be something I would’ve purchased myself, I found real value and enjoyment in having someone along for the ride. 

We’d crack jokes and mess around with friendly fire, and I’d keep forgetting the controls and pelting him with grenades. It felt like an experience that pleased my inner teenager. It took me back to other cooperative titles I would play during sleepovers in the early 2000’s. It was also wholesome to experience a franchise that my partner is incredibly fond of. 

A jungle area from the video game Halo 3
Screenshot from Halo 3

I thoroughly enjoyed my time with this collection. The games always had a special place in my heart for the laughs and fun times that they brought me with friends. Now that I’ve experienced the story and the world of Halo, I’ve got a deeper appreciation for the early titles. I did play Halo 4 in this collection, but I am planning on expanding on my thoughts on the titles separately in the future. Now that I’m aware there is more lore to explore, I’m hoping to come across it in the wild eventually. 

I eagerly await more cooperative opportunities with the video games in the future, be it via the titles I have or new content. Halo is a franchise worth dabbling with, even if it’s just a cooperative experience, and I am glad I experienced it the way that I did. 


Do you like the Halo universe?


Leave a comment