After hearing many positive reviews about the movie Splinter, I finally watched it and regret not seeing it sooner!


The movie centres around a parasitic life-form that transforms its victims into zombified hosts, trapping a young couple and an escaped convict in a gas station.

To infect living hosts, it leaves splinters in the body and takes over corpses to continue hunting and feeding. The splinters that the creature leaves and their impact on the body of its victim are uneasy to watch. The effects are the greatest part of this movie in my opinion.

While watching the movie, I found myself flinching every time the splinter-like creature appeared on the screen. Its design made it appear like a menacing entity that posed an imminent threat to the protagonists. The creature’s sharp edges and eerie movements made it seem like it could effortlessly eliminate the characters.


Towards the end of the movie, I realised that I cared for all the characters involved, even the convicted character. During the course of the story, he went through a lot of character development, and I hoped he could find redemption and accept justice for the crimes he committed. After all the characters endured during the movie, wanting a happy ending for everyone, I would happily watch a sequel if the studio ever created one.

What I enjoyed most about the movie were its special effects. They’re incredible. While they are obviously a work of fiction, they look like something that could appear in the real world. They look incredibly gruesome and have aged well especially since this movie was released in 2008.

Overall, Splinter is a fantastic movie. It has likeable characters, incredible special effects that look terrifyingly realistic, and a run time that doesn’t overstay its welcome.

Watch it at least once, and thank me later.


One response to “I watched Spinter (Spoiler Free!)”

  1. Ste Pidyn Avatar
    Ste Pidyn

    Will it make me do a brown stain in my under pants?

    Also is Splinter from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in it?

    Like

Leave a comment